Subject: Notice for seeking stakeholder inputs on the DFC (Draft for Comments) of Indian Telecom Security Assurance Requirements (ITSAR) for Open RAN (O-RAN) of 5G: O-RU, O-DU, O-CU

Dear Stakeholders,

In exercise of the powers conferred by Section 7 of the Indian Telegraph Act, 1885 (13 of 1885), the Central Government amended the Indian Telegraph Rules, 1951 to insert Rule 528 to 537 in Part XI under the heading Testing & Certification of Telegraph. The new rules provide that every telecom equipment must undergo prior mandatory testing and certification.

- **2.** Telecom Engineering Centre (TEC) came out with Procedure for Mandatory Testing and Certification of Telecommunication Equipment (MTCTE) in December 2017. The MTCTE document outlines the procedure to operationalise the new Rules.
- 3. The testing and certification described in the MTCTE procedure document requires that the equipment meets the Essential Requirements (ER). Security Requirement is part of ER for which the equipment must be tested and certified against. The responsibility for framing Security requirements and for Security testing and certification lies with National Centre for Communication Security (NCCS), a centre under Department of Telecommunications headquartered at Bengaluru.
- **4.** Security Assurance Standards (SAS) vertical under NCCS is responsible for drafting and finalizing ITSARs for communication equipment. In this regard, an online meeting is scheduled for discussion with the stakeholders (TSPs, M2M service providers, Application service providers, Device manufacturers, OEMs, prospective labs, industry bodies, and academia) on the Draft ITSAR for **Open RAN (O-RAN) of 5G: O-RU, O-DU, O-CU.** The details of the online meeting and registration link are as follows:
  - Date of meeting: To be notified soon
  - Meeting link: will be shared later

The comments received from stakeholders will form the basis for discussion. Stakeholders are hereby requested to participate in the above meeting & send their suggestions/comments/inputs to the following e-mail addresses on or before 31.01.2025

- 1. Shri N Janardhan, Director (SAS-III), NCCS dirsas3.nccs-dot@gov.in
- 2. Ms. Mounika Adepu ADET-I (SAS-II), NCCS adet1sasf.nccs-dot@gov.in

In case of any queries, please call Sh. N Janardhan, at +919449080282 or Ms. Mounika Adepu at +917780439890

Thanks, and regards

N Janardhan Director (SAS-III) O/o Sr DDG(NCCS), NCCS, DoT, Bengaluru-27.